StartseiteHome Concerts Event Calendar Sir Antonio Pappano & Yuja Wang

Sir Antonio Pappano & Yuja Wang

Thursday, 17. February 2022, 8.00 pm
Munich, Isarphilharmonie

Friday, 18. February 2022, 8.00 pm
Munich, Isarphilharmonie

Saturday, 19. February 2022, 7.00 pm
Munich, Isarphilharmonie


Antonín Dvořák
Othello, op. 93

Franz Liszt
Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major


Carl Nielsen
Symphony No.4 "The inextinguishable"

Sir Antonio Pappano, Conductor

Yuja Wang, Piano

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Yuja Wang (c) Norbert Kniat


ticket presale begins on 1. February 2022

Tickets can be purchased via this website, online at, on site at the BRticket advance booking office or by phone on 0800 5900 594. More information

Provided that the legal regulations permit concerts with audiences, the concerts of the BRSO take place on the communicated dates and times.

video livestream and live on the radio

BR-KLASSIK will broadcast the concert on Friday live on the radio and as a video livestream (here on the concert page). More livestreams

About the Programme

“I have an idea for a new work, which has no programme, but which will express what we understand by zest for life or expressions of life … where one would simply say, ‘This is life’.” Thus Carl Nielsen wrote of his Fourth Symphony, which he called “The Inextinguishable”. Composed between 1914 and 1916, it is considered to be a milestone in Scandinavian music, reflecting the events of the Great War with the dramatic timpani duel in the final movement. A life in harmony and the violence of nature are likewise synonymous with Desdemona and Othello in Antonín Dvořák ’s Othello Overture. Here, too, the timpani becomes a seismograph of the emotions. Between these two “life works”, conductor Antonio Pappano has placed Liszt’s Piano Concerto No. 1, played by Yuja Wang. This Chinese pianist will pound the keys in the highly demanding solo part while caressing the delicate hues with ingratiating elegance.

More recommended concerts

Christopher Corbett (c) Astrid Ackermann

29.01.2022 / 30.01.2022

Chamber Concert

Kinderkonzert (c) Astrid Ackermann

11.02.22 / 11.02.22 / 13.02.22 / 13.02.22

NotenTexte | Odyssee. Eine musikalisch-literarische Matinee für Kinder

Schloss Blutenburg (c) Internationale Jugendbibliothek


NotenTexte | Mozarts Spiele in Wort und Musik. Ein musikalisch-literarischer Abend

Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our Privacy Policy for details.