StartseiteHome Concerts Event Calendar NotenTexte | Danse Macabre. Ein musikalisch-literarischer Abend – CANCELLED!

NotenTexte | Danse Macabre. Ein musikalisch-literarischer Abend – CANCELLED!

Saturday, 09. April 2022, 7.00 pm
Munich, Jella Lepman-Saal

Concert cancellation

Unfortunately, the concert has to be cancelled at short notice due to several cases of illness in the ensemble.

Tickets already purchased will be refunded. Please return the tickets to the point of sale where you booked them:

If you purchased your tickets at BRticket, please send them to BRticket, Hopfenstr. 4, 80335 Munich, Germany, no later than April 30, 2022 (print@home: please send the ticket PDF via email to

If you purchased your tickets at another Munich ticket agency, please contact them for the refund. BRticket cannot take back these tickets for technical reasons.

Please understand that the refund may take some time.


Maurice Ravel
Sonatine (arr. Carlos Salzedo)

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Streichquartett Nr. 6 f-Moll, op. 80 - 1. Allegro vivace assai

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Streichquartett Nr. 6 f-Moll, op. 80 - 3. Adagio

André Caplet
Conte Fantastique (basierend auf Edgar Allen Poe`s "The Mask of the Red Death")

Jehye Lee, Violin

Julita Smoleń, Violin

Frederike Jehkul-Sadler, Cello

Shira Majoni, Viola

Magdalena Hoffmann, Harp

Heiko Ruprecht, Speaker

Antonio Pellegrino, Konzeption

Magdalena Hoffmann © Astrid Ackermann
Heiko Ruprecht © Christian Hartmann
Heiko Ruprecht as narrator

about the programme

There is no escaping the bond between life and death, and nothing brings this realisation to general awareness with such force as the depredations of war and pestilence. Since the Middle Ages epidemic plagues have inspired gruesome depictions from visual artists: the danse macabre became a full-fledged commonplace in its own right. Similarly Edgar Allen Poe’s Masque of the Red Death, inspired by his experience of an 1831 cholera outbreak in Baltimore, pictures Death as a wily conqueror of every feeble attempt to negate it. André Caplet’s bleak, ghostly recounting of this theme is one of the most evocative pieces of Impressionist chamber music – and a pièce de resistance for harpists. In contrast, Mendelssohn’s F minor Quartet confronts us with a subjective confession of sorrow at the loss of a loved one. Composed after the death of his sister, this “Requiem for Fanny” is perhaps the darkest music in his entire oeuvre.

More recommended concerts

Sir Simon Rattle © Stefan Radbold

03.02.2023 / 05.02.2023

Sir Simon Rattle

Schloss Blutenburg © Antonia Schwarz


NotenTexte | Am Ende der Zeit. Ein musikalisch-literarischer Abend

Vimbayi Kaziboni © Astrid Ackermann


Vimbayi Kaziboni & Tabea Zimmermann

Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our Privacy Policy for details.