These are extraordinary times, and we long pondered whether to publish our subscription programme for the coming season while the measures taken to protect our healthcare system – and thus all of us – are still in effect, rendering concerts temporarily impossible. We came to believe that an optimistic view of the future is, in the end, our only alternative. Perhaps even more important for our decision to present the BRSO subscription concerts scheduled from late September 2020 was our musicians’ burning desire to play for you again, by next autumn at the very latest! Quite apart from covid-19, it should not be forgotten that we faced an unusual and, as before, sorrowful situation: 2020/21 will be our first season after Mariss Jansons. Yet he will remain present within it for all of us, not least because the concert weeks we planned with him will be taken over by colleagues he held in high esteem. Maestro Jansons will always remain irreplaceable.

Nonetheless, although we had to draw up a concert season largely from scratch over the last three months, we are able to present a list of conductors such as few orchestras in the world can hope to match in quality, variety and renown: Herbert BlomstedtGustavo DudamelSir John Eliot GardinerMirga Gražinytė-TylaDaniel HardingJakub HrůšaOksana LynivSusanna MälkkiZubin MehtaAndris NelsonsYannick Nézet-SéguinSir Simon RattleChristian Thielemann (his BRSO début!) and Franz Welser-Möst. That, too, is a legacy of the Mariss Jansons era. Maestro Jansons was always selflessly intent on having “his” orchestra work with the best artists in the world, even in his absence.

We are delighted to welcome Igor Levit, who will give several concerts as artist in residence. Among our featured soloists will be Julia Lezhneva (soprano), Baiba Skride (violin), Daniel Müller-Schott (cello), Francesco Piemontesiand Yefim Bronfman (piano), Christian Gerhaher (baritone) and Gil Shaham (violin).

This year our more detailed season brochure, with information on all activities of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, including BRSO Education, special concerts and tours, will not appear until June.

Das BRSO in der Philharmonie im Gasteig (c) Astrid Ackermann

all concerts of the new season

Get an overview of all planned concerts of the upcoming season 2020/21!

Event Calendar

Igor Levit c Robbie Lawrence

igor levit is artist in residence

In 2020/21 the relationship between Igor Levit and the BRSO is intensifying – he becomes Artist in Residence!

Igor Levit as Artist in Residence

Publikum (c) Peter Meisel


Besides a reserved seat even with sold-out events and large discounts you profit from many more advantages.

More information about subscriptions

presales at at glance

Plan your concert experiences with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra in 2020/21 and get yourself an overview of all presale dates in the new season.

The presales at a glance

the conductors in the new season

Blomstedt (c) Meisel
Herbert Blomstedt
Dudamel (c) Vern Evans
Gustavo Dudamel
Gardiner (c) Meisel
Sir John Eliot Gardiner
Gražinytė-Tyla (c) Frans Jansen
Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla
Harding (c) Daniel Delang
Daniel Harding
Hrůša (c) PC_Prague Philharmonia
Jakub Hrůša
Mälkki (c) Astrid Ackermann
Susanna Mälkki
Mehta (c) Oded Antman
Zubin Mehta
Nelsons (c) Meisel
Andris Nelsons
Nezet Seguin (c) Chansvanderword
Yannick Nézet-Séguin
Rattle (c) Astrid Ackermann
Sir Simon Rattle
Thielemann-Christian (c) Matthias Creutziger
Christian Thielemann
Welser-Möst (c) Roger Mastroianni
Franz Welser-Möst

the soloists in the new season

Lezhneva (c) Emil-Matveev
Soprano Julia Lezhneva
Baiba Skride (c) Marco Borggreve
Violinist Baiba Skride
Francesco Piemontesi (c) Marco Borggreve
Pianist Francesco Piemontesi
YefimBronfman (c) FrankStewart
Pianist Yefim Bronfman
Christian_Gerhaher (c) Sony_GregorHohenberg
Baritone Christian Gerhaher
Daniel Müller Schott (c) Uwe Arens
Cellist Daniel Müller-Schott
Gil Shaham (c) Peter Meisel
Violinist Gil Shaham