Mariss Jansons & Yefim Bronfman

Monday, 20 November 2017, 8.30 pm
Lugano, Lugano Arte e Cultura


Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Concerto No 4 G major, op 58


Sergej Prokofjew
Symphony No 5 B-flat major, op 100

Mariss Jansons, Conductor

Yefim Bronfman, Piano

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Yefim Bronfman

During the season 2012/2013 Yefim Bronfman was “Artist in Residence” at the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks. in November 2017 he accompanies the orchestra on his European tour and plays the piano concerto No. 4 by Ludwig van Beethoven on three evenings in Lugano, London and Vienna. We talked to him about this piece.

I would like to activate YouTube content and agree to data being loaded from YouTube (see privacy policy).

Concert at “LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura”

The first stop of our European tour in Lugano is also associated with a premiere: we played for the first time in the local cultural center “LAC Lugano Arte e Cultura”, which opened in September 2014. The new concert hall has 1000 seats.

LAC Kugano ©Meisel
Konzertplakate Lugano ©Meisel
LAC Lugano ©Meisel
Konzertsaal LAC ©Meisel
Afternoon rehearsal
Mariss Jansons und Yefim Bronfamn ©Meisel
Yefim Bronfman and Mariss Jansons
Yefim Bronfamn ©Meisel
Bronfman playing the piano concerto No. 4 by Beethoven.
Konzertsaal LAC ©Meisel
Konzertsaal LAC ©Meisel
Mariss Jansons checks the acoustics.
Konzertsaal LAC ©Meisel
Programmheft Lugano ©Meisel
BR-LKW ©Meisel
All instruments have arrived well.
Luganer See
Lake Lugano
Blick auf Lugano ©Meisel


The last moments before going on stage: get focused and keep your nerves. Everyday life for professional musicians.

Mariss Jansons ©Meisel
The moment before going on stage.
Mariss Jansons ©Meisel
Lionel Cottet ©Meisel
Lionel Cottet (principal cellist)
Eric Terwilliger ©Meisel
Eric Terwilliger (principal hornist)
Thomas Ruh ©Meisel
Thomas Ruh (hornist)
LAC Lugano ©Meisel
LAC Lugano ©Meisel


To the Website of “Lugano Arte e Cultura”:

More recommended concerts

Schloss Blutenburg © Antonia Schwarz


NotenTexte | Am Ende der Zeit. Ein musikalisch-literarischer Abend

Vimbayi Kaziboni © Astrid Ackermann


Vimbayi Kaziboni & Tabea Zimmermann

Lisa Batiashvili © Sammy Hart/DG

02.03.23 / 03.03.23 / 04.03.23

Jakub Hrůša & Lisa Batiashvili