Mariss Jansons & Yefim Bronfman

Friday, 2 February 2018, 8.00 pm
Munich, Herkulessaal


Jörg Widmann
"Trauermarsch" for Piano and Orchestra


Franz Schubert
Symphony No 8 C major, D 944 "The Great C major"

Mariss Jansons, Conductor

Yefim Bronfman, Piano

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Download Programme Booklet in German.

It’s not the first time that Mariss Jansons and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra have performed a work by Jörg Widmann. In 2008 they gave the première of his now frequently heard concert-overture Con brio, one of those commissioned works that commented on Jansons’ Beethoven cycle from a contemporary angle. Now Maestro Jansons is presenting another successful piece by this 44-year- old Munich composer: Trauermarsch (Funeral March) for piano and orchestra. Widmann wrote his unusual piano concerto for the Usbekian-Israeli virtuoso Yefim Bronfman, who will play the demanding piano part just as he did at the Berlin première in 2014. Trauermarsch is a clever game with tradition that seeks, adopts and fractures a close proximity to Brahms, Rachmaninoff and especially Mahler. Ecstatic explosions of sound and moments of mystic repose turn this emotionally charged score into a thrilling concert experience. With this attractive item of contemporary music, Jansons boldly erects an arch to the slow movement from Franz Schubert’s “Great” C major Symphony, likewise dominated by a mood of plodding melancholy. Where Widmann reflects on the past, Schubert, with his grand creation, plunges into the future and foreshadows Bruckner with mighty outbursts from the trombones.

I would like to activate YouTube content and agree to data being loaded from YouTube (see privacy policy).

More recommended concerts

Sir Simon Rattle © Stefan Radbold

03.02.2023 / 05.02.2023

Sir Simon Rattle

Schloss Blutenburg © Antonia Schwarz


NotenTexte | Am Ende der Zeit. Ein musikalisch-literarischer Abend

Vimbayi Kaziboni © Astrid Ackermann


Vimbayi Kaziboni & Tabea Zimmermann