StartseiteHome Concerts Event Calendar Mariss Jansons & Rudolf Buchbinder

Mariss Jansons & Rudolf Buchbinder

Friday, 25. October 2019, 8.00 pm
Munich, Philharmonie im Gasteig
Introduction 6.45 pm


Carl Maria von Weber
Euryanthe. Overture

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 23 in A major, K. 488


Dmitri Shostakovich
Symphony No. 10 E minor, op. 93

Mariss Jansons, Conductor

Rudolf Buchbinder, Piano

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Mariss Jansons will conduct the monumental Tenth Symphony by Dmitri Shostakovich, and we await his mature reading with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra with bated breath! Written a few months after the death of Stalin in 1953, this bleak masterpiece is a stocktaking with the dictator and the régime of terror that caused the composer so much suffering. Later he even suggested that the aggressive scherzo is a mugshot of Stalin himself. Maestro Jansons can summon up all his experience with Shostakovich in this autobiographical confession, which only toward the end abandons its underlying hue of brooding tragedy. The symphony is preceded by a reunion with the Austrian pianist Rudolf Buchbinder, a specialist in the Viennese classical period. This time he will play Mozart’s A major Piano Concerto K 488, a piece close to the world of opera buffa. Its high spirits stand in contrast with a deeply despondent slow movement in F sharp minor. To open the concert Maestro Jansons has programmed a work whose brilliant verve makes it a perfect entrée: the overture to Carl Maria von Weber’s romantic opera Euryanthe.

More recommended concerts


68. ARD-Music Competition - Concert of the Prize Winners

26.09.19 / 27.09.19 / 28.09.19

Daniel Harding

10.10.2019 / 11.10.2019

Mariss Jansons & Diana Damrau

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our for Privacy Policy details