Mariss Jansons & Martin Angerer

Friday, 12 January 2018, 8.00 pm
Munich, Gasteig


Igor Stravinsky
"Symphony in Three Movements"

Johann Nepomuk Hummel
Trumpet Concerto E major


Ludwig van Beethoven
Mass C major, op 86

Mariss Jansons, Conductor

Martin Angerer, Trumpet

Genia Kühmeier, Soprano

Gerhild Romberger, Alto

Maximilian Schmitt, Tenor

Luca Pisaroni, Bass-Baritone

Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Download Programme Booklet in German.

Mariss Jansons will start the new year with the Chorus and the Symphony Orchestra of Bavarian Radio – he is, after all, the principal conductor of both. The main focus of his programme will fall on the Viennese Classical period, and particularly on Beethoven’s Mass in C major, the ambitious forerunner of the “Missa solemnis”. The Mass was given a lukewarm reception at its Eisenstadt première in 1807; the man who commissioned it, Prince Esterházy, even made fun of its Enlightenment spirit, its terse expression and its unorthodox treatment of the words: “My dear Beethoven, what have you done!” he exclaimed, apparently to malicious laughter from Eisenstadt’s court capellmeister Johann Nepomuk Hummel. But the prince was merely accustomed to Hummel’s gallant idiom. Hummel was Haydn’s successor at Esterháza and a friend of Mozart. He was also the composer of the brilliant Trumpet Concerto with which Maestro Jansons will once again showcase a soloist from the RSO’s own ranks: Martin Angerer (b. Graz, 1977). A passionate Stravinsky conductor, Jansons will open the evening with a seldom-heard work by the neo-classical Stravinsky: the “Symphony in Three Movements”, commissioned for the New York Philharmonic in 1945. Stravinsky himself called it his “war symphony”, and in fact a militant, violently pulsating march rhythm pervades all three movements. What could be a more fitting response to these pounding feet than a plea for peace: the “Agnus Dei” from Beethoven’s Mass in C major?

More recommended concerts

Sir Simon Rattle © Stefan Radbold

03.02.2023 / 05.02.2023

Sir Simon Rattle

Schloss Blutenburg © Antonia Schwarz


NotenTexte | Am Ende der Zeit. Ein musikalisch-literarischer Abend

Vimbayi Kaziboni © Astrid Ackermann


Vimbayi Kaziboni & Tabea Zimmermann