StartseiteHome Concerts Event Calendar Mariss Jansons & Leonidas Kavakos

Mariss Jansons & Leonidas Kavakos

Thursday, 01. November, 8.00 pm
Munich, Philharmonie im Gasteig
Introduction 6.45 pm

Friday, 02. November, 8.00 pm
Munich, Philharmonie im Gasteig
Introduction 6.45 pm


Dmitri Shostakovich
Concerto for violin and orchestra No. 1 in A minor, op. 77


Igor Stravinsky
Le sacre du printemps

Mariss Jansons, Conductor

Leonidas Kavakos, Violine - Artist in Residence

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

A towering figure on today’s music scene, Leonidas Kavakos (b. 1967) studied violin in his native Athens and with Josef Gingold in the USA. Since then he has made solo appearances with the world’s finest orchestras, played chamber music with musicians of the calibre of Yuja Wang and Yo-Yo Ma and recently distinguished himself as a conductor. After two guest appearances with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, he is now returning for an entire season as artist-in-residence. He will perform three great violin concertos by Shostakovich, Beethoven and Alban Berg, conduct Beethoven’s Seventh and join forces with soloists from the Bavarian RSO in a reading of Beethoven’s Septet. The dark sound of his newly acquired “Willemotte” Stradivarius, built in 1734, will be displayed to full advantage in Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto no. 1, a stark and sombre work full of relentless drama and grim humour. Principal conductor Mariss Jansons, who recently extended his contract to 2024, will complete this all-Russian programme with a tour de force for virtuoso orchestra. And what a work it is: Stravinsky’s formerly scandalous Le sacre du printemps, now a well-established cult masterpiece of modern music.

More recommended concerts

20.12.2018 / 21.12.2018

David Robertson & Emanuel Ax

28.03.2019 / 29.03.2019

Leonidas Kavakos

09.05.19 / 10.05.19 / 11.05.19

Daniel Harding & Leonidas Kavakos

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

We use cookies to improve the performance of our website and enhance your user experience. By continuing to browse our website, you agree to our use of cookies. Further information can be found in our privacy policy.