StartseiteHome Concerts Event Calendar Manfred Honeck & Igor Levit

Manfred Honeck & Igor Levit

Thursday, 16. December 2021, 8.00 pm
Munich, Isarphilharmonie

Friday, 17. December 2021, 8.00 pm
Munich, Isarphilharmonie

Saturday, 18. December 2021, 7.00 pm
Munich, Isarphilharmonie


Johannes Brahms
Piano Concerto No.1 in D Minor, op.15


Antonín Dvořák
Symphony No. 8 in G Major, op.88

Manfred Honeck, Conductor

Igor Levit, Piano

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks


Ticket presale begins on November 30, 2021.

More information about ticket purchase

Live on the Radio

BR-KLASSIK will broadcast the concert live on the radio on Friday, December 17, 2021.


“An orchestra of wailing and jubilant voices”: thus Robert Schumann described the piano playing of Johannes Brahms. Now Igor Levit, last season’s artist-in-residence, returns to the BRSO with Brahms’s First Piano Concerto, the very work with which the composer forged his path from chamber music to the symphony. Here the “voices” of the solo instrument and the orchestra blend into an intensive dialogue. Dvořák’s Eighth Symphony radiates the relaxed and cheerful holiday mood of the little village of Vysoká. “The melodies just drop into my lap”, the composer enthused, and indeed the symphony seems to “emerge directly from Bohemia’s natural surroundings and the Czech people”, to quote Dvořák’s enraptured biographer Otakar šourek. With this symphony Manfred Honeck conducts one of Dvořák’s most popular works, revealing him to be a Czech national composer to the very core.

More recommended concerts

28.10.2021 / 29.10.2021

Jakub Hrůša & Isabelle Faust

29.10.21 / 29.10.21 / 31.10.21 / 31.10.21

"Laughing Beethoven - Flying Münchhausen"


Special chamber concert

Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our Privacy Policy for details.