Saturday, 03. July 2021, 6.00 pm
Munich, Herkulessaal


Ludwig van Beethoven
Quintet for Piano and Winds E-flat Major, op. 16

Ferruccio Busoni
Violin Sonata No. 2 e Minor, op. 36a

Igor Levit, Piano

Anton Barakhovsky, Violin

Ramón Ortega Quero, Oboe

Christopher Corbett, Clarinet

Marco Postinghel, Bassoon

Carsten Carey Duffin, Horn

about the programme

Artist in residence Igor Levit has chosen genuine rarities for his chamber recitals with members of the BRSO, one that forces him to truly show his mettle. Beethoven’s op. 16, the Quintet on the Fortepiano Accompanied by Four Wind Instruments, was composed in 1796, five years after the death of Mozart, who wrote a piece for the same combination of instruments. Here Beethoven raised his claim to be Mozart’s successor in Vienna. Busoni’s Second Violin Sonata of 1898 can even point to three historical forebears: a Bach quote and its manipulations, echoes of Beethoven’s Piano Sonata op. 109, and the late-romantic virtuoso pianism of Liszt. Reger, in his Piano Trio of 1908, likewise shows that he was one of the leading “pieceworkers” of the early 20th century. Here the pianist is given more than enough to chew on.

Please note: The works by Beethoven and Busoni will be performed on July 3, 2021 at 6.00 pm.

The work by Reger will be performed on July 3, 2021 at 8.30 pm. More about the concert


Ticket presale begins on June 15, 2021.

Provided that the legal regulations permit concerts with audiences, the concerts of the BRSO take place on the communicated dates and times. Tickets can be purchased by phone on 0800 5900 594, online at or via this website. You can find more information about ticket purchase here.

More recommended concerts

17.06.2021 / 18.06.2021

Aziz Shokhakimov | Dvořák


TonSatz "James Baldwin"

01.07.21 / 01.07.21 / 02.07.21 / 02.07.21

Edward Gardner | Igor Levit

Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our Privacy Policy for details.