StartseiteHome Concerts Event Calendar Johannes Kalitzke & Ilya Gringolts

Johannes Kalitzke & Ilya Gringolts

Friday, 28. October 2022, 8.00 pm
Munich, Herkulessaal
Introduction 6.45 pm


Iannis Xenakis
»Jalons« for 15 Instrumentalists

Milica Djordjevic
»Mit o ptici« for choir and orchestra (world premiere) - commissioned by Bavarian Radio’s musica viva series


Nicolaus Richter de Vroe
Violin concerto (world premiere) - commissioned by Bavarian Radio’s musica viva series, with the kind support of the Freunde des Symphonieorchesters des Bayerischen Rundfunks e.V.

Johannes Kalitzke, Conductor

Ilya Gringolts, Violin

Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Johannes Kalitzke (c) Astrid Ackermann

about the programme

As can only be expected, Nicolaus Richter de Vroe is fully au fait with the violin. After all, this Halle-born composer is a trained violinist and played in the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra for more than 30 years. He wrote his new violin concerto for Ilya Gringolts, a violinist celebrated in the concert hall for his uncompromising and expressive style. No less uncompromising and expressive is Iannis Xenakis’s Jalons (Milestones), a work frequently reminiscent of electro-acoustic music that was written to celebrate the tenth anniversary of Pierre Boulez’s Ensemble Intercontemporain. After the interval we will be treated to Mit o ptici (The Myth of the Birds) by the Serbian composer Milica Djordjević. This large-scale work for chorus and orchestra is a setting of the eponymous ballad by Miroslav Antić, a poet born in what was then Yugoslavia. “This wonderful poem has haunted me for 20 years”, the composer explains. “It tells a very multi-layered, forthright and truly courageous story that reverberates strongly within me.”

Musica viva Logo

Part of the musica viva concert series

This concert is part of the musica viva-concert series of the BR. Musica viva is one of the world’s most famous events for future-oriented and contemporary music, where many experimental works and performances for orchestra and chamber music receive their premiere.

More information

More recommended concerts

Sir Simon Rattle © Stefan Radbold

03.02.2023 / 05.02.2023

Sir Simon Rattle

Schloss Blutenburg © Antonia Schwarz


NotenTexte | Am Ende der Zeit. Ein musikalisch-literarischer Abend

Vimbayi Kaziboni © Astrid Ackermann


Vimbayi Kaziboni & Tabea Zimmermann

Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our Privacy Policy for details.