Jakub Hrůša & Augustin Hadelich

Friday, 19 October 2018, 8.00 pm
Munich, Gasteig


Antonín Dvořák
Concerto for violin and orchestra in A minor, op. 53


Josef Suk
Symphony No. 2 C minor, op. 27 'Asrael'

Jakub Hrůša, Conductor

Augustin Hadelich, Violin

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Two spectacular débuts and a richly evocative programme: that’s what the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra will offer under its guest conductor Jakub Hrůša. Normally the principal conductor of the Bamberg SO, this Czech conductor has recently embarked on an international career. With the Bavarian RSO he will introduce himself with the monumental late-romantic “Asrael Symphony” by the Czech composer Josef Suk, a work not heard here since the days of Rafael Kubelik. It has long been Hrůša’s companion, having conducted it in Prague’s Rudolfinum Hall in 2004 to complete his studies with Jiří Bĕlohlávek. The “Asrael Symphony” takes its name from the angel of death in Islamic and Jewish mythology. It is a twofold act of mourning: not only does Suk grieve for the death of his teacher and father-in-law, Antonín Dvořák, his wife Otilka also passed away while the composition was in progress. This C minor Symphony was thus transformed into an instrumental Requiem, fading away with a glimmer of hope in C major. Before “Asrael” we will hear the début of the 34-year-old violinist Augustin Hadelich, one of the outstanding talents of his generation. He will play Dvořák’s Violin Concerto, a piece inspired by Bohemian folk music in its tuneful melodies and fiery dance rhythms – and a grateful task for violin virtuosos the world over.

More recommended concerts

Sir Simon Rattle © Stefan Radbold

03.02.2023 / 05.02.2023

Sir Simon Rattle

Schloss Blutenburg © Antonia Schwarz


NotenTexte | Am Ende der Zeit. Ein musikalisch-literarischer Abend

Vimbayi Kaziboni © Astrid Ackermann


Vimbayi Kaziboni & Tabea Zimmermann