next Csaba Wagner

Uwe Schrodi


Uwe Schrodi was born in 1968 in Radolfzell. He studied with Prof. Branimir Sloka at the Music Academies in Trossingen and Freiburg, and, during this period, he was a member of the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival Orchestra, the Young German Philharmonic, as well as the Gustav Mahler Youth Orchestra.

Even before completing his studies, he became principal trombonist with the Essen Philharmonic at the Aalto Theatre in that city. In 1999 he switched to the Bayerischer Rundfunk and played as principal trombonist in the Münchner Rundfunkorchester first, Since  2005 he has been trombonist in the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks.

A number of substitute assignments have taken him to the NDR Elbphilharmonie Orchestra in Hamburg, the Radio Symphony Orchestra in Frankfurt, the Deutsche Oper in Berlin, the Bavarian State Opera in Munich, the Gewandhaus Orchestra in Leipzig as well as to the Berlin Philharmonic. In addition, Uwe Schrodi has long years of experience in chamber music for brass instruments through his participation in a variety of ensembles, the “HR Brass”, the “BR Brass”, German Brass and the Datura Trombone Quartet with which he won 1st prize in the “Jan Koetsier Competition” in 1993.

CD productions with the Datura Quartet, the HR Brass Ensemble and the Ensemble Modern in Frankfurt also show his interest in both early music as well as contemporary and experimental music.

In the winter of 2013/14 Uwe Schrodi was appointed a professor of trombone studies at the Music Academy in Nuremberg.

“A peek through the keyhole” with Uwe Schrodi (june 2015)

In this series of videos about our chamber music concerts, musicians grant insight into chamber music subtitles and answer spontaneously without knowing the questions beforehand.

More videos of the series

I would like to activate YouTube content and agree to data being loaded from YouTube (see privacy policy).

I would like to activate YouTube content and agree to data being loaded from YouTube (see privacy policy).

next Csaba Wagner