StartseiteHome Concerts Event Calendar Cancelled: Franck Ollu

Cancelled: Franck Ollu

Friday, 03. December 2021, 8.00 pm
Munich, Herkulessaal

Due to the current infection situation, musica viva of Bayerischer Rundfunk has decided to cancel this concert and postpone the programme to the upcoming season 2022/23.

Tickets already purchased are no longer valid and will be refunded. Please return your tickets to the point of sale where you booked them. If you purchased your tickets at BRticket, please send them to BRticket, Hopfenstr. 4, 80335 Munich, by December 31, 2021 at the latest (print@home: please send us the ticket PDF by e-mail to In any case, please include your bank details (IBAN). If you got your tickets via phone or online by credit card, the ticket value will be credited there after the tickets have been returned.

If you purchased your tickets at another Munich ticket agency, please contact them for the refund. BRticket cannot take back these tickets for technical reasons.

We ask for your understanding that the refund may take some time.

We regret this inconvenience and hope that regular concerts will soon be possible again.


Minas Bourbodakis
"sparks, waves and horizons" (commissioned by musica viva, world premiere)

Iannis Xenakis
"Ais" for baritone, percussion and orchestra

Franck Ollu, Conductor

Krassimir Sterev, Akkordeon

Dirk Rothbrust, Schlagzeug,Pauke

Georg Nigl, Baritone

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Franck Ollu © Jean-Jaques Ollu

musica viva 2021/2022 © LMN Berlin


This concert is part of the musica viva concert series – one of the world’s most important forums for contemporary music. This forward-looking concert series presents new orchestral and ensemble works as well as advanced chamber music compositions of experimental character at the highest level.

More information

About the programme

This programme features three pieces that relate to southern Europe, all commissioned by musica viva. The première of Italian composer Francesca Verunelli’s Concerto for Accordion is flanked by two works from Greek composers. For years Minas Borboudakis, born on the Isle of Crete, has been a freelance composer and pianist in Munich. Nonetheless, the title of his new work sparks, waves and horizons conjures up images of the Mediterranean. Greek culture stands earnest and severe in the foreground of Ais by Iannis Xenakis. “Ais” (Hades) is the realm of the dead, the underworld of shades, based on fragments from the Odyssey, the Iliad and lines of Sappho. It is a monumental work for baritone, solo percussion and orchestra. To quote the composer: “The orchestra highlights or invokes feelings connected with the twin concepts of life and death – feelings that define us all, and from whose polarity there is no escape.”

More recommended concerts

Schloss Blutenburg © Antonia Schwarz


NotenTexte | Am Ende der Zeit. Ein musikalisch-literarischer Abend

Vimbayi Kaziboni © Astrid Ackermann


Vimbayi Kaziboni & Tabea Zimmermann

Lisa Batiashvili © Sammy Hart/DG

02.03.23 / 03.03.23 / 04.03.23

Jakub Hrůša & Lisa Batiashvili

Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our Privacy Policy for details.