Dima Slobodeniouk & Leif Ove Andsnes

Thursday, 21 September 2017, 8.00 pm
Munich, Herkulessaal


Jean Sibelius
En saga op 9

Sergei Rachmaninoff
Piano Concerto No 4 G minor, op 40


Jean Sibelius
Symphony No 1 E minor, op 39

Dima Slobodeniouk, Conductor

Leif Ove Andsnes, Piano

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Download Programme Booklet in German.

Focus on Sibelius

To launch our new season, a Russian newcomer is making his debut with the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra. Already successful on the international stage, Dima Slobodeniouk learnt the tools of his trade at the Moscow Conservatory and the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki. The charismatic conductor, who was born in 1975, combines these two cultures in his work on the podium – and he is no less fond of combining them in his concert programmes. With the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra Slobodeniouk is opening the season by focusing on Sibelius, two of whose early works frame the fourth and final piano concerto by Serge Rachmaninoff. The soloist is the Norwegian pianist Leif Ove Andsnes, paying a return visit to the orchestra and enchanting his audience with the typical Rachmaninoff sound in which tender melancholy merges with the sort of swing that we associate with jazz. Slobodeniouk ends his Romantic programme with the Finnish composer’s popular First Symphony, in which soaring melodies meld with pulsating energy and hymn-like effusions. The programme opens with one of Sibelius’s early tone poems that has only rarely been performed by the orchestra: En saga meanders between mystical moods inspired by nature and dramatic climaxes. In this legend from ages long past Sibelius leaves it to his listeners to imagine stories of their own.

Watch The video portrait of Dima Slobodeniouk

I would like to activate YouTube content and agree to data being loaded from YouTube (see privacy policy).

More recommended concerts

John Eliot Gardiner © Sim Canetty-Clarke

23.03.2023 / 24.03.2023

Sir John Eliot Gardiner

Manfred Honeck © Todd Rosenberg

30.03.23 / 31.03.23 / 01.04.23

Manfred Honeck & Julia Bullock

Jakub Hrůša © Marian Lenhard


Bamberger Symphoniker, Jakub Hrůša & Julia Fischer