Friday, 25. June 2021, 8.00 pm
Munich, Herkulessaal
Introduction 6.45 pm


Chaya Czernowin
"Crude" (2020/21) - commissioned by musica viva | world premiere


Nicolaus Richter de Vroe
Violin concert (2020/21) - commissioned by musica viva | world premiere - commissioned by musica viva

David Robertson, Conductor

Ilya Gringolts, Violin

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

about the Programme

Nicolaus Richter de Vroe knows the BRSO inside out as an active violinist, listener and composer. This newly commissioned work for “his” orchestra just had to be a concerto for the violin: ever since he heard György Ligeti’s Violin Concerto at musica viva, with Ilya Gringolts as soloist, he has hatched plans for his own concerto. Inspired by the versatility and chameleon quality of this Russian violinist, the new work follows patterns now borrowed from other pieces, now all its own. Yet Richter de Vroe is under no illusion that an intimate knowledge of the instrument automatically guarantees an easy compositional ride, much less a successful piece of music. Chaya Czernowin’s new orchestral composition deals with the courage to let go. Here giant phalanxes of sounds and masses are set in motion. “It will be a dirge”, this Israeli composer confides, “a lament on our hubristic belief that we can control everything. At the same time it’s a reminder of the unpredictable and unknown forces that move us.”

This concert is part of the musica viva concert series for contemporary music. More information


The advance ticket sales for the concerts from April 2021 will be announced soon.

More recommended concerts


Radio broadcast: Gustavo Gimeno | Daniil Trifonov – without audience


Radio broadcast: Zubin Mehta – without audience


Livestream: Robin Ticciati | Christian Gerhaher – without audience

Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our Privacy Policy for details.