Daniel Harding & Dorothea Röschmann

Thursday, 26 October 2017, 8.00 pm
Munich, Gasteig


Alban Berg
Three Fragments from "Wozzeck" for Soprano and Orchestra, op 7


Anton Bruckner
Symphony No 4 E-flat major "Romantic"

Daniel Harding, Conductor

Dorothea Röschmann, Soprano

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Download Programme Booklet in German.

In 2005 the British conductor Daniel Harding, then 30 years old, gave his début with the Bavarian RSO in a concert performance of Alban Berg’s seminal opera Wozzeck. Since then he has been one of the orchestra’s regular guest conductors. Now he is presenting the “Three Fragments” from the same opera. Berg, at the request of conductor Hermann Scherchen, extracted them from his score in 1924 in order to facilitate the première of this allegedly unplayable work. The tactic paid off handsomely: a year later Erich Kleiber conducted the legendary first performance of Wozzeck at the Berlin State Opera. Berg’s concert suite focuses on the tragedy of Wozzeck’s wife Marie, sung here by Dorothea Röschmann. Flanked by a bellicose military march and the harrowing final adagio, Marie sings her child to sleep and implores forgiveness for her acts of adultery while reading the Bible. The pièce de résistance on Harding’s programme is Anton Bruckner’s popular Fourth Symphony, which the composer himself nicknamed “The Romantic”. The term is perfectly apt, for the symphony thrives on echoes of nature in its romantic horn writing. It opens with an idyllic horn call, and the horns blare merrily along above all in the third movement, a lively “hunting scherzo”.

More recommended concerts

John Eliot Gardiner © Sim Canetty-Clarke

23.03.2023 / 24.03.2023

Sir John Eliot Gardiner

Manfred Honeck © Todd Rosenberg

30.03.23 / 31.03.23 / 01.04.23

Manfred Honeck & Julia Bullock

Jakub Hrůša © Marian Lenhard


Bamberger Symphoniker, Jakub Hrůša & Julia Fischer