Saturday, 05. March 2022, 8.00 pm
Munich, Max Joseph Saal

Sunday, 06. March 2022, 6.00 pm
Tutzing, Evangelische Akademie


Carl Nielsen
Serenata in vano

Carl Nielsen
String Quartet No. 3 in E-Flat Major, op. 14


Edvard Grieg
String Quartet No. 2 in F Major

Jean Sibelius
Serenade for two Violins and Cello

Franz Berwald
Septet in B-Flat Major

Werner Mittelbach, Clarinet

Susanne Sonntag, Bassoon

Ursula Kepser, Horn

Tobias Reifland, Viola

Anne Schoenholtz, Violin

Andrea Eun-Jeong Kim, Violin

Jaka Stadler, Cello

Teja Andresen, Double Bass

Skandinavische Landschaft © Ferhat Deniz Fors

about the programme

This evening of Nordic chamber music covers a wide range of styles by composers from four Scandinavian countries. The historical starting point is the Septet for Winds and Strings, written in 1817 by the Swedish romantic composer Franz Berwald. It is unmistakably modelled on Beethoven’s  masterpiece for the same combination of instruments. Grieg’s unfinished F major String Quartet of 1891 exudes a lilting charm and a Norwegian hue, while the E flat major Quartet by his Danish colleague Carl Nielsen (1898) strikes out on noticeably more modern paths. Rounding off the programme are two pièces de occasion: an enchanting Serenade with a touch of Vienna, composed by Sibelius during a holiday on Finland’s Archipelago Sea, and a humorous “unrequited” nocturnal serenade by Carl Nielsen, written during a concert tour in 1914.

More recommended concerts

Schloss Blutenburg © Antonia Schwarz


NotenTexte | Am Ende der Zeit. Ein musikalisch-literarischer Abend

Vimbayi Kaziboni © Astrid Ackermann


Vimbayi Kaziboni & Tabea Zimmermann

Lisa Batiashvili © Sammy Hart/DG

02.03.23 / 03.03.23 / 04.03.23

Jakub Hrůša & Lisa Batiashvili

Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our Privacy Policy for details.