Saturday, 11. June 2022, 8.00 pm
Munich, Max Joseph Saal

Sunday, 12. June 2022, 6.00 pm
Tutzing, Evangelische Akademie


Paul Schoenfield
Trio for Clarinet, Violin and Piano

Olivier Messiaen
4. Satz "L'eau" aus "Fête des belles eaux" for Ondes Martenot and Piano

Paul Schoenfield
"Café Music" for Piano, Violin and Cello


Olivier Messiaen
Quatuor pour la fin du temps

Lukas Maria Kuen, Piano

Christopher Patrick Corbett, Clarinet

Korbinian Altenberger, Violin

Samuel Lutzker, Cello

Christopher Corbett (c) Astrid Ackermann

About the programme

A milestone of 20th-century chamber music and a top-notch blend of high and applied art: this programme deftly combines two completely different musical universes. Olivier Messiaen’s 45-minute mystical vision of the “end of time”, inspired by his reading of the Book of Revelation, leads the listener into a realm of the eternal and infinite. This meditation, brought about with ingenious rhythmic devices, contrasts with the first part of the programme under the banner of “lived music”. Here the Jewish-American composer Paul Schoenfield (1947- ) draws on a wide range of musical experiences – jazz, klezmer, ancient Hassidic melodies – combining them with classical stylistic elements and instrumental virtuosity.

More recommended concerts

Sir Simon Rattle © Stefan Radbold

03.02.2023 / 05.02.2023

Sir Simon Rattle

Schloss Blutenburg © Antonia Schwarz


NotenTexte | Am Ende der Zeit. Ein musikalisch-literarischer Abend

Vimbayi Kaziboni © Astrid Ackermann


Vimbayi Kaziboni & Tabea Zimmermann

Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our Privacy Policy for details.