Friday, 23. April 2021, 7.00 pm
Munich, Herkulessaal
Introduction 5.45 pm


Peter Eötvös
Violin Concerto No. 3 "Alhambra"


Helmut Lachenmann
"My Melodies" for eight Horns and Orchestra - commissioned by musica viva, supported by Freunde des Symphonieorchesters des Bayerischen Rundfunks e.V.

Peter Eötvös, Conductor

Kristof Baráti, Violin

Lukas Maria Kuen, Piano

Ivanna Ternay, Flute

Heinrich Treydte, Clarinet

Korbinian Altenberger, Violin

Klaus-Peter Werani, Viola

Uta Zenke-Vogelmann, Cello

Horngruppe des Symphonieorchesters des Bayerischen Rundfunks

Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks

about the Programme

In the melodies of Helmut Lachenmann, a pioneer of “noise music”, eight horns project a feeling of endless breath, an intimation of eternity. Three years after its première at musica viva, his My Melodies will receive its second première, equipped with an extensive cadenza and new orchestral inserts. Dedicated to the eight solo horns of the BRSO, the piece will now be heard in its definitive form. In the case of Peter Eötvös it is a single violin that ushers the orchestra into a bygone era and a legendary fortress marked by the encounter between Moorish and Western culture. Eötvös himself will conduct his most recent concerto, Alhambra, sending violinist Kristof Baráti on a transcultural journey through space and time.

This concert is part of the musica viva concert series for future-oriented and contemporary music.


The advance ticket sales for the concerts from April 2021 will be announced soon.

More recommended concerts


Radio broadcast: Gustavo Gimeno | Daniil Trifonov – without audience


Radio broadcast: Zubin Mehta – without audience

Our site uses cookies to individually display content and measure reach. We incorporate third-party elements such as Facebook and Youtube. Please see our Privacy Policy for details.